Photoshop CS3 wont save as png?

I had a problem with Photoshoshop CS3 for about a week and it was driving me nuts. For some reason when I tried to save the files it wouldn’t give me an option to save an .png. I double checked that the image was in RGB Mode (Image>>Mode>>GRB Color),since png option is not available in CMYK and kept it in 8bt resolution (Image>Mode>8bits).

I could save everything as “.psd”, “.jpg” or another file type except “.png”. It just did not appear in the drop-down menu when I select “File – Save As”.

Well, after a lot of research, I came across “Adobe Security bulletin”.(http://www.adobe.com/uk/support/security/bulletins/apsb07-13.html) Click here.

I Manually updated the security patch, and there it was, “Png.8bi” plug-in. I have no clue why the plug in got deleted but apparently a lot of people are having the same problem.

Windows
In Windows Explorer, navigate to the following location(s):

For CS3: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS3\Plug-Ins\File Formats;
MAC

In the Finder, navigate to the following location(s):

For CS3: Applications//Adobe Photoshop CS3/Plug-Ins/File Formats

I hope this helps. Good Luck!

6 thoughts on “Photoshop CS3 wont save as png?

  1. For a log time I am looking for solution to this problem, I never got to open a png file in my cs3 photoshop . I went to Adobe page and download the security path, and it is working right now. Thanks a lot for sharing this info.

  2. I had an issue with saving my file as a png and I found that when I went to save it, I must have accidentally pressed “use adobe dialog” button at the bottom left of the save as screen. I clicked it again to switch back to O.S. dialog and I was able to save it as a png again.

Leave a Reply

